Posted by: raesalley | August 30, 2005

Morning thought of the day

First, a tune – Audioslave’s Doesn’t Remind Me. I heard this on my way into work this morning and it was a little haunting. Especially the spooky chorus:
The things that I’ve loved the things that I’ve lost
The things I’ve held sacred that I’ve dropped
I won’t lie no more you can bet
I don’t want to learn what I’ll need to forget

It makes you wonder, what exactly it was that he lost. The bridge provides a clue: Bend and shape me / I love the way you are / Slow and sweetly / Like never before / Calm and sleeping / We won’t stir up the past / So descretely / We won’t look back He probably lost her, and something that he had with her.

It’s times like this that I’m suddenly catapulted ten years into the past and wondering what the hell I was thinking on the banks of Euclid Creek. And then later, when I spent days IMing from college and several states away. But I wouldn’t trade the possibility for what I have now. I love my life, I love what I have, but I sometimes wonder about what I lost.

Leave a Reply

Categories

