Posted by: raesalley | September 23, 2005

I want to try an experiment…

I want to put up something I’ve been working on and off forever. Since I seem to be getting better at writing here, maybe (just maybe) if I start putting up snippets I’ll finish this thing.

anywho….it’s going to be a series of locked entries and stuff. If you want to read it, let me know. I’ll put you on the list.

Here’s the opening, for a taste.

“You know, I always thought a deep red wine would go better with jazz.”

“I never liked red wine, and besides it is a white merlot.” she said quietly, shaking while she stood with her back to the door. “You’re early.” She places her glass down on the coffee table, smiling. Just recently, the coffee table was littered with magazines, photographs, copies of texts, and other research material for the new production. Her current project was just starting its run, but it was time to start researching the next. This new one held promise. Granted, she was not in charge, just the assistant, but she still had work to do with only a week before starting. “What caused you to be able to get away so early? Couldn’t handle another moment away?” She smiles, staring out at the sunset from the ninth story flat window.

“That and I could smell your cooking miles away. He pauses, and then suddenly, “when are you going to give in?”

Her smile fades, and a shadow crosses her face. Why couldn’t he just come out and say it? He knew she wanted to, but could not drop everything that she had worked for to become his. This relationship was draining both of them; leading two lives, the worry, the heartache, sometimes she wondered if it was all worth it. And, in some respects, it was.

“When I can understand what brought us to this…”

Leave a Reply

Categories

