Posted by: raesalley | March 21, 2006

nostalgia

On the Spa, someone started a nostalgia trip…asking the questions of what would your life be like if you had married someone you dated in high school or college? Of course, I listed it quite quickly in a line or two for each. For the most part, I’d be miserable. Several of the guys I dated in hs or college have led such a different life than what I’ve enjoyed – heck one of them would likely have me barefoot and preggers in some kitchen while he preached the Good Word to some flock of mindless sheep. One guy (from college) doesn’t hold anything for me…just because it’s such a different world from where I am, and we had that at points in college where we were on very different paths but we were too comfortable to kick out of our shared path of the moment. Another…well…he just was too white bread for me. There was only one where I could have pictured myself happy. It’s the one time where I wish I had thought more and worried less about people’s perceptions. But, at the same time, I don’t think I’d be who I am if I had stayed with him. So really, why worry?

odd.

Leave a Reply

Categories

