Last tango at Paris hotel…

The sun beat down on her. Drops of sweat beaded on her skin under the intense rays of the sun. Taking a cooling sip from her drink, she turned the final page and sighed over another happily ever after. The thing is, nothing happens like these are written. Disgusted with herself for dreaming for a moment, she tossed the book into the bag. The towel she had been laying on followed the book. The sarong she had set aside earlier was tied around her waist again and she headed off to the lobby.

“Ma’am, will you come with me?” A sleek, well dressed man slid up next to her and grabbed her elbow. “Quickly please, and no fuss.” He smiled down at her “I just need a dancing partner. We can leave your bag here.” He dropped her bag with a quick nod to the coat check as the two approached a grand ballroom off the lobby. “You know how to tango?”

“I’m – what – no?” Her heals clicked across the tile as he lead her onto the floor.

“Just pretend for the next few minutes that you want me naked upstairs and the only thing that’s keeping us from that is we have this dance.” He smiled again. “I just need you for a few minutes and then I’ll let you go, okay?”

“Um…sure…” As the music started flowing around them, her body tightened and locked into position. Her sarong swirled around her calves on the twirls and licked at his pants. Slowly she saw other couples drop off the floor and he led her masterfully through the the sequences and coloring it with his own flavor. Her leg wrapped around him and he pulled her up and then dropped her into a dip as it closed.

Polite applause followed them off the floor. Conversation resumed and the music changed pace as nobody wanted to follow that display. “Did I do okay?”

“You did fine.”

“Should I ask why you needed a tango partner enough to accost a strange woman out of the lobby?”

“Who says I needed a reason? Maybe I just wanted to feel you wrapped around me. For a woman who’s read three romance novels in a little more than a day, maybe I just wanted to see if her skills matched her reading taste.”

“what would you have done if I had argued? and why have you been watching me?”

“Have dinner with me and find out.”

Published by

raesalley

Escaping the world of children, family obligations, working in a male-dominated field to read about HEA/HFN and hopefully remembering to write about it.

One thought on “Last tango at Paris hotel…”

Leave a Reply

