Posted by: raesalley | January 2, 2008

MeMe: 2007 year in review

Nothing like starting a new year by looking at how you got here. So as we figured out where the heck we’re going, I’m trying to remember how we got here. And, it’s fun to be a lemming sometimes.

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?

Bought a house, was fired from a job and found a new one, had a Christmas holiday for family – his parents came to dinner on Christmas Eve and Christmas Brunch. I think those are pretty big deals. On a different note – I did lighting design for my first professional show. And finally seeing a TransSiberian Orchestra concert.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t think I bothered last year. Bad me.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No. At least I don’t think so…

4. Did anyone close to you die?

I lost two aunts back to back in August. That was an odd event.

5. What countries did you visit?

None. My traveling was done with Spala gals to Charleston and family visiting in Cleveland and Maryland. I’m plotting purchasing a passport now so that my crazy best friend and I can plot a visit to Niagra on the Lake. Maybe. But I need a passport now. Sigh.

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?

A fun, challenging job that has good coworkers and a boss who understands that I have an exterior life. Maybe trying that whole pregnancy thing.

7. What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

June 7th – my last day physically working at the Center. August 20th – starting work with my paranoid Germans.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Moving into our first house. We’ve successfully entertained here, had a holiday celebration with family, and started figuring out how to make it all ours.
9. What was your biggest failure?

I almost want to say that getting fired was my biggest failure. The reason for my departure was billed to me as being that I wasn’t working out in the position. Which I want to feel like means I wasn’t doing my job. Which may or may not be the case when you ask people, however it is quite possible that the whole reasoning comes down to personality. Not having the right answers drives me crazy, but (with the exception of questions like this) I’ve given up wondering.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

No – I’ve been getting better.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Tough call – either the grill or the washer/dryer combo. The grill has made the world of cooking and entertaining a more fabulous world. However, the W/D has made me very happy for cleaning clothes and allowed me to start plotting moving my crafty self out of a closet and into a workspace. It’s on our renovation list for 2008.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

The Bald One – because he’s taken all of the insanity I’ve thrown at him (moving, lifestyle changes, my job changes, his job change) and just run with it. On a more world/national scale…I have no clue. There have been great people doing crazy things…but nothing worth celebrating stands out.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Journalists – between overhyping the Presidential possibilities, the misdeeds of insane celebrities, celebrating people who have no purpose being celebrated and not paying a darn bit of attention to world events that should matter.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Our house. The house was fairly move-in ready with being vacant and mostly fresh paint, but we needed to change paint in two rooms before we could move in – the master and the guest room changed from blue and pink to green and purple respectively. Then there was the grill, the W/D and working hard on getting things set for outside. The outside was horribly neglected in our opinion, which meant some major sweat equity in things like fixing the front island and raking the decades of leaf debris in the back. We keep realizing we need to get it up and keep it up…but the leaves keep falling and the drought didn’t help.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Playing in our house. Painting. Discussing possibilities of major changes. Planning a deck.

16. What song will always remind you of 2007?

Possibly One of these Mornings by Moby. No idea why

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder? even – happy because I’m feeling settled. sadder because this was a hard year.

b) thinner or fatter? chubby. Sigh.

c) richer or poorer? Moving in the right direction.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

More outside. I have my bike all fixed up, which means that I should be able to get around better…but I haven’t been. Bad me.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

sitting. I have so much to do, that I often end up spazzing.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

Here in our house with his parents. I’m wondering when we’ll get mine here.

21. Did you fall in love in 2007?

no…already have my heart sent.

22. What was your favorite TV program?
Nothing really stands out…We still have the same recording list but nothing is my favorite.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No.

24. What was the best book you read?

Damn. No idea. Too many to pick a fave.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

A Fine Frenzy.

26. What did you want and get?

To be able to play guitar with my hubby…we played about two bars of Carol of the Bells on the 26th…me with my leftie and him all normal.

27. What did you want and not get?

A Deck

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

None screamed as stunning, but I have loved Netflix.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 29…I think we did something…oh – barbequed.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

If I could just work in theater related  stuff. No such luck.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?

Comfy business-casual. No suits, but dress slacks & skirts with professional-ish blouses and sweaters.

32. What kept you sane?

Sleep.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Gerard Butler.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

Everyone needing the STFU about the upcoming election. I do NOT need this much ramp-up.

35. Who did you miss?

my dear friend Elanova.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

a Spala gal – Beej.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007.

Value yourself and others might follow.

Responses

  1. Dude, I love A Fine Frenzy, too! 🙂 Great meme. I might have to steal it.

  2. […] a slacker already, but I really liked this meme Rae did this year. I’m gonna steal it. And as it’s Friday, a slow blogging day, I’m […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

