Posted by: raesalley | May 24, 2008

Closing night!

In a few short moments, I’ll be getting in my car to head off to the theater for the last time on this production. I’m not working the strike (yeah!) because I’m not needed, so after tonight I won’t be going back for this show. I get to have a glorious ten days off before I start a new show – and that one is pretty much a babysit job.

It’s always a bit bittersweet to close a show. You’ve gotten used to seeing people on a regular basis. There’s a routine you get comfortable doing. And not to mention the adrenaline rush from running a show. We’ll run this one last time, have a party over at Spice Street and then all say adieu. Tomorrow the designers will begin clearing out the set, props, costume and Monday the lights will come down.

Meanwhile, I’ll be having a quiet time with the Bald One. We’ll do some yard work (because it needs it) and a bit of grocery shopping in preparation for Monday’s brunch, which will likely flow into a cookout much later. It’ll be a quiet, restful two days in preparation for a four day work week where I actually get to come home and relax, or do things around the hous or whatever instead of do theater.

Don’t get me wrong, I love working on shows and all the fun that we have together…but by the end of the run, I look forward to sitting quietly at home with my cats or taking a walk in the neighborhood after dinner. Or, my personal greatest pleasure, eating dinner on a plate at a table.

Tonight will be filled with final moments. The last places call for this cast, the last time I hear the joke about the guy’s wedding night and – thank everything that is holy – the last time I have to clean up the mess from the Anvil Chorus bit. Then we’ll all have a drink in congratulations and off to our own separate lives, knowing full well there will be some other time.

Responses

  1. I totally know how you feel!!! And yet, it doesn’t take long before the feeling sets in of “wow, it would be nice to be working on a show again.” I like the ebb and flow of it all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

