Posted by: raesalley | April 1, 2010

April’s fool

What is likely my last obstetrics appointment was Wednesday. As part of that visit, we reviewed my most recent bloodwork numbers (all good) and discussed our plan going forward. My weekly non-stress test was moved from Friday to Tuesday for the holiday, the fact that I’d be at that point 40 weeks was discussed and an induction date was set. Much to my enjoyment it was not set for my father-in-law’s birthday (Tuesday) or (to the Bald One’s happiness) set for today.

Gummi Bear’s official due date is Sunday, and the doc said she wouldn’t be surprised if we didn’t make it to the induction date. That’s her experience talking, citing that usually with a pregnancy like mine (measuring right around average the entire time) the due date is the middle of a four day window either way. Granted, I believe this is about as reliable as thinking dilation and effacement are a good prediction of how soon labor will begin. In other words – maybe, maybe not.

Part of me giggles, as the induction date and theoretical time an induction takes makes for some very amusing numerology…but part of me refuses to worry about it. Gummi Bear will show up when she’s darn good and ready – and nothing seems to want to change that. I just have to be patient — something I’ve never quite mastered.

Leave a Reply

Categories

