Posted by: raesalley | March 4, 2013

Why I won’t be a SAHP, day 1

The Bald One turned 40 this year. Instead of renting a limobus and hitting the bars, I suggested he do something more fun and hopefully with a better collection of memories afterwards – a trip through the bourbon trail with folks that would appreciate it.

This means that I’m without daycare while he is gone. Crap. That’s okay, I’ll get to spend time with Gummi Bear before Kid 2.0 shows up this summer. Can’t be too hard, right? Story hour, museums, get some housework done and maybe even be on the ball enough to get some work done before she gets up in the AM, right?

I call bullshit.

The Bald One left on Sunday, after both he and Gummi Bear had crashed early.on the couch and then gone to bed late-ish…only to have her wake up at 4am due to a nightmare. That meant I didn’t really get back to sleep. I finally gave up the pretext around 8am and he left shortly after that. Gummi Bear started her day about 40 minutes later and kept running until 6:30.

On the other hand, I was tired. Like, please don’t ask me to do anything energetic – like past dumping legos on the floor or prepping food. We also had plans on trying potty training. Oy.

When dinner time rolled around, I was indulging in KFC. We talked all the way there, lots of yawns in the car, but we talked. While I placed the order, she fell asleep. For three hours. Unfortunately, I didn’t. I ate, watched some tv, read and lazed about. Eventually, she woke up and we crashed for good around 1am…only to wake with nightmares an hour later. With two hours shy of a full day awake, I finally collapsed.

Tomorrow might be different. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

Categories

