Posted by: raesalley | November 20, 2013

GoldieBlox and the Princess-ification of our Girls

By now, hopefully, you’ve seen the video or read the article on Slate for GoldieBlox latest commercial using the Beastie Boys and how awesome STEM is for girls.

Why can’t my girl be both a Princess:

Halloween, 2013

and and a hammer wielding destroyer:

shed building requires strength (and beer for adults)

Personally, I cannot wait until this comes out so I can buy a set for the Gummi Bear and we can build things together. Until then, I will have to be happy with our occasional fits of Lego building houses for the giraffe & elephant and the crazy towers with her blocks.

Pigtail Pals & Ballcap Buddies, a site I follow fairly regularly, points out that colors are for everyone. Toys are for everyone as well, and just because something isn’t colored pink doesn’t mean that my daughter should not play with it and only her brother should touch it. I follow PP&BB because it helps me feel less alone in my fight (and occasionally helps me find locally parents who think the same as I do as we share the same articles). It also provides a more articulate discussion than I could ever manage.

I was raised playing legos and with the belief that I could be anything I wanted. I initially went into a STEM career and left, not because I was the only woman, but because I ceased caring about my field. Now, I’m back in a related world and occasionally wonder if there had been more exposure to all the different flavors of STEM if I would have found the right one for me. In any case, I’m happy with who I am but want to make sure that my daughter and my son are exposed to the same things and the same chances and are not limited by what they are but filter based on who they are.

And sometimes a little bit of Beastie Boys gives me hope that is possible.

Leave a Reply

Categories

