Posted by: raesalley | February 11, 2014

Is art worth dying for?

Is art worth dying for?

According to Matt Damon, that’s one of the central questions asked in Monuments Men.

I’ve been interested in seeing this film since I first heard about it about a year ago. The cast sounds fantastic, and from the previews it looks like it will be gorgeous to watch. The brief late night visit on Daily Show by Clooney just made me more interested in the film, but only enough to put it on my IMDB Watchlist. But it was that snippet pulled from a video with Matt Damon that made me feel like I need to see this film.

I’m not sure what to think about that statement though. In an era where we’re seeing arts (in general) have cuts in funding and being dropped from our schools, what does the future hold?

Responses

  1. I am a teacher and at times it feels like that, they only want us to teach the kids docility, obedience, or/and whatever. Even though, we have kids who are learning, I mean, keeping on and up with this modus operandi, I think it would have had been creative, soothing, spiritual even, if the kids were veritably encouraged into getting, into one of my the many forms of Arts that we have, but unfortunately, the Arts is really getting effaced from our schools.

  2. Hey Rae, just tuned in randomly…glad I found you, your blog is fun. I like theatre and books too (I’m pursuing a PhD in Theatre and should be studying/writing right now! whoops) Get weird with me over at http://www.thatssojacob.wordpress.com if you like 🙂

  3. There are definitely some things worth dying for, but I would like to give it a sober second thought.
    Leslie

  4. Reblogged this on kaylabee7.

  5. Arts is what makes us different from other creatures. Definitely worth fighting for.


Leave a Reply

Categories

